×

Vietnam’s public holidays are administered by the Ministry of Labour, Invalids and Social Affairs of Vietnam (MOLISA).

Employees seeking to plan ahead and schedule their allotted paid holidays per year can now mark these dates in their calendars. When a public holiday falls on a weekend – either Saturday or Sunday – the following Monday will be considered a paid holiday.

Three significant days that are not officially recognized as paid holidays include the Anniversary of the Founder of the Communist Party, the Birthday of President Ho Chi Minh, and Christmas.

Tet is the most important holiday because it is the Vietnamese New Year; in honor of religious freedom and the country’s political independence, local shops are widely known to close down during this time.

 

Official public holiday schedule for 2021:

  • New Year’s Day: January 1 (Friday)
  • Tet Holiday: February 10 (Wednesday) – February 16 (Tuesday)
    February 11 (Thursday) is Tet Eve (Vietnamese New Year’s Eve)
    February 12 (Friday) is Tet Nguyen Dan (Vietnamese New Year)
  • Hung Kings Commemoration Holiday: April 21 (Wednesday)
    Hung Kings are the traditional founders of the nation, the holiday falls on the 10th day of the third lunar month
  • Liberation/Reunification Day Holiday: April 30 (Friday)  
  • International Labor Day: May 1 (Saturday)
  • National Day: September 2 (Thursday)
  • Day after National Day: September 3 (Friday)
Download this guide on PDF

Find Other Guides and Magazines:

magazines

Your Insights & Resources Library for Asia

Asiapedia is a collection of resources based on what we have learned about doing business in Asia. It’s the product of more than 300 team members collaborating across 28 offices in Asia, Europe, and North America.

or
Back to top